What a Day it Was

 

I got up early as my stomach was churning with nervousness. I wasn’t sure if the crowd inside my house was gathered to celebrate meeting family after such a long time or was it to witness my special day.

I was still uncertain if the day was going to become a special day or will it turn out to be uproar. I waited as the ladies from the groom’s house were expected to come and dress me up. Bound by tradition, I waited patiently and nervously. They finally came and helped me dress up in a sari, make-up, and some composure.

The photographers were called in to click the pictures of a dressed-up bride. A moment of quiet and a heartfelt prayer by my parents; everyone was ready to take me to the Church. I sighed and let some air go inside my lungs. Swept inside the car I sat with my wedding galore and the beautiful veil. I had the company of my would-be new family, but I searched outside the window for reassurance from my family.  Comforting smiles and hurried “see you at the church” were all that my brother and mother could squeeze in.

At the church, my groom was suited, beige and all. He peeped inside and searched my eyes and smiled. I returned an unsure smile. Walking down the aisle, I recollected the time when I had first thought of marriage, ring and the vow.

The priest blessed our joined hands, as I said my wedding vows, “Till Death Do Us Apart”, I whispered to myself, it is going to be a long journey. Life till date had taught me patience; I was a little apprehensive about the number of things I will learn in my marriage.

Ushered with blessings and love, Him and I stepped daintily into a new journey of life.One and a half years later I reflect on the emotional roller-coaster;

What a Day It was.

 

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

I am participating in #DailyChatter #UBC by @blogchatter

10 thoughts on “What a Day it Was

  1. Love how you’ve translated the confusing emotions in words. Also, even I wondered if the family was happy for reunion or the bride at my cousin’s wedding ..hehe!!

    Like

  2. […] Grown up and attending family marriages are so much fun especially the dressing up, getting all and some new attention. The consequences of which was getting a marriage proposal from my bro-in-law’s extended family even before the couple had finished saying “I Do”! Thanks to my diplomatic cousin who stalled the marriage by a year, last counted it has been three years since her marriage and I am still not hitched!! […]

    Like

Comments are closed.