#ChhoteKadam for a Healthy Heart

When we talk about healthy habits the top most thing which comes to mind is that it is imperative to have a disciplined life to live healthy. There are few changes that I have made in my eating habits and life and I am sharing them here to join the initiative for a healthy heart.

Stay Active

  • Have Breakfast – Breakfast is the most important meal which gives you energy for the long day ahead. As I don’t snack in between meals, I make sure that I have a good breakfast to hold me up until lunch. For me, a good breakfast is either two parathas with some vegetable or dosas with chutney, sometimes poha and finishing it with a mandatory cup of tea.
  • Walk – To stay active, walk as much and whenever you can. Include a practice of walking briskly for 30 minutes every day and take the stairs instead of the elevator.
  • Exercise or Meditation Regime – Not everyone likes or can do weight exercise or gyming. You can include an exercise regime which suits your body, age or temperament. I do Pilates at home on alternate days; as it increase strength and flexibility. Plus it is a gentle exercise and most of the exercises are performed in reclining or sitting positions.

Eating Better

  • Avoid Processed Food – Given the availability of all kinds of frozen food, earlier I often bought a packet of frozen chicken kebabs or sausages to cook quick kebab gravy or a sausage recipe to eat with rice. Now I am consciously giving up on frozen and processed food.
  • Switch To Light Cooking Oils – No matter how hard I try, I cannot completely give up fried food, whether it is pagodas, purls or fried chicken. That’s why I have taken a #chhotekadam and switched to cooking/frying in light cooking oils.
  • Limit Eating Out – It is tempting to eat out and try new cuisines in different restaurants. Adopting a healthy lifestyle has not stopped my husband and me from eating out; however, we have limited our eating out days to once a week.
  • Choose Your Beverage – Tea is my poison, but I avoid having tea in an empty stomach at any given time. Also, I keep my intake of tea to twice a day, one with breakfast to lift up my spirit and another in the evening to keep up my spirit. Other times when I am at home and I want to drink something apart from water I make myself a glass of fresh, not store bought, mosambi juice without any sugar.

Being Happy

  • For being happy no other medicine is as renowned as laughter! Laughter helps in reducing stress is said to release hormones that can also relieve physical pain.
  • Be around people who make you happy, be it family, friends or children.
  • Cultivate a hobby. Nowadays, our lives are very busy but do you remember the time when reading a new book or collecting stamps made you happy? As we grow, hectic schedules and laziness, we start giving up on doing things which we liked. New chapters in life require newer hobbies; such as learning to swim or playing an instrument, cooking new recipes, writing or blogging.

Make a commitment to yourself to make healthy living your lifestyle and start with #ChhoteKadam so that on the next World Hearts Day you are proud of a promise kept. Click to know your healthy lifestyle score.

Note: “I am joining the Saffolalife #ChhoteKadam initiative in association with BlogAdda and follow these small steps for a healthy heart.”

Images via Pixabay

